ICC Cricket World Cup

This is the premier international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. Every four years, the sports major governing body, the International Cricket Council, stages the event.  It is the culmination of a long qualifying process for some nations, which includes preliminary qualification rounds. The tournament is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is considered the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC.  The West Indies automatically qualify for the World Cup via being one of the ten (10) full members (test-playing) of the ICC.

The Windies were triumphant in the first two World Cups, winning confidently in both Finals.  Sir Isaac Vivian Alexander Richards starred in both those matches, having a spectacular three (3) run-outs in the first match in 1975, where Clive Lloyd was named Man-of-the-Match (MoM) for his classy unbeaten ton.  In the second World Cup Finals in 1979, Richards was deservedly MoM, producing his own unbeaten ton to post a total unattainable to the English. The West Indies were runners-up in 1983, but since then, have been unable to reach the finals.  However, with the Under 19’s winning the latest edition of their World Cup, the Windies seem to be on an upward spiral.  The glory days may soon be back!

The next Cricket World Cup will be held in 2019, hosted by England and Wales.

ICC Champions Trophy

The originally named the ICC Knockout.  Two editions were held under this name, 1998 in Bangladesh and 2000 in Kenya.  In 2002, the competition was renamed and a decision was made for it to be staged every two years, until 2009. The event had to be canceled in Pakistan the year before and South Africa needed time to sort out logistically.  Subsequently the event moved to a four year cycle and features the top eight teams in the ICC one-day rankings.  In the past, all ODI-playing nations qualified, along with one other team, through the Six Nations Challenge.  This was however changed to the current format, in 2009.

The first round comprises two groups of four with the top two in each group progressing to the semi-finals and the winners contesting the final. The event is short, sharp and highly competitive.

The West Indies have won the tournament on one occasion, in 2004. The Finals were somewhat underwhelming, as the West Indies chased 218. The West Indies were actually 147 for 8, however a resilient unbeaten 71-run partnership between Courtney Browne, the wicketkeeper, and Ian Bradshaw, the left-arm bowler, took the Windies past the line.

The next Champion’s Trophy will take place in England/Wales in 2017.

ICC World T20

This competition was first staged in 2007 in South Africa, originally on a two-yearly cycle, however the competition now takes place every 4 years.

Sixteen teams participate in the tournament. The ten ICC Full Members qualify automatically, the top 8 from the ICC T20 rankings go directly into the Super 10 stage and the bottom two join six qualifiers in the first round. This features two groups of four with the top team in each group progressing to the Super 10. The ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier takes place approximately 12 months prior to the event to identify the three (3) Associate Member qualifiers.

The West Indies have been exceptional at this format of the game since its inception. We are the only team to have one this particular competition on two occasions, in 2012 and 2016, with Marlon Samuels being named Man-of-the-Match on both occasions, scoring 78 and 85* respectively.

The next World Twenty20 will take place in 2020, with Australia as the hosts.


ICC Women's World Cup

This is the pinnacle event in the women’s game and was originally staged in 1973, two years before the inaugural men’s world cup.

When the International Women’s Cricket Council merged with ICC in 2005, the ICC Women’s World Cup (WWC) was formally included in the cricket calendar on a four year cycle. The first WWC run by ICC took place in Australia in 2009.

The format and number of participating teams in the event have varied over the years. Currently the WWC format comprises eight teams playing a full round robin, which replicates the men’s event format. The top four teams progress to semi-finals with the winners contesting the WWC final.

The West Indies have never won the Women’s World Cup, but are amongst the favorites to take that title in 2017, as England hosts.

ICC Women's World T20

This tournament was launched in 2009 and unlike the men’s competition, remains a bi-yearly operation. It sees ten (10) teams competing for the title; the top six teams in the women’s rankings are joined by 4 teams that qualify from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier event.

The West Indies women have won the tournament in 2016.  Hayley Matthews was the star of the day, scoring a superb 66 in a fantastic run-chase.  This was the Windies’ first title.

The next ICC Women’s World Twenty20 takes place in 2018 in the West Indies.

West Indies Under-19

ICC Under-19 World Cup

This is an international cricket tournament contested by national under-19 teams. First contested in 1988, as the Youth World Cup, it was not staged again until 1998.

Since then, the World Cup has been held as a biennial event, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition of the tournament had only eight participants, but every subsequent edition has included sixteen teams. The West Indies are the current holders, having won the tournament in February 2016.

The next ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is scheduled for January-February of 2018 in New Zealand.